ILANA HARRIS-BABOU

Wholesome Fun

See captions below


Opening
Friday, 1 October 2021, 4 – 9 pm | Guided tour with the artist, 6 pm

Exhibition brochure

With Wholesome Fun, Kunsthaus Hamburg is hosting Ilana Harris-Babou’s first institutional solo exhibition in Europe, which will be presented in tandem with her solo show Tasteful Interiors running from August 16 through November 5, 2021, at ICA @ UTC in Chattanooga, USA.

In her video works, collages, and sculptures, Harris-Babou combines humor and a keen critique of society, revealing racist structures and social discrepancies in the mirror of western hegemonic consumer and media culture.

In this context, she adopts the language of popular advertising formats on Youtube and Instagram, in which companies develop their brand image and mostly members of the younger generation enact their consumerism as a lifestyle in the everyday sphere, capturing their cooking or DIY activities on camera. Here, the self-empowerment of the Do-It-Yourself concept becomes a paradigm of self-optimization, propagating efficiency, performance, and would-be good taste in addition to practical tips.

The artist usually presents her video works as spatial installations in combination with small-format sculptures or collages. The absurdity of dysfunctional household utensils, often made of pottery, and her self-ironic performances (sometimes in collaboration with her mother) mock the logic of a morally and aesthetically optimized lifestyle. With works such as Reparation Hardware (2018) or Human Design (2019), she establishes an interconnection between the obsessive aestheticization of contemporary consumer society that levels all inequalities through a purportedly ‘authentic’ design, and the trauma of colonial history, which continues to shape the reality of many African Americans. Beyond the American context, however, many parallels can be found in the artist’s works to European conditions, in which both structural racism and the privileges of individual social groups are deeply anchored in everyday life.

In her most recent works, Decision Fatigue and Leaf of Life (2020), Harris-Babou addresses the boom of the wellness industry and its promises of salvation. In doing so, particularly in the multi-channel installation Leaf of Life, she makes reference to the narratives of conspiracy theories, health gurus, and evangelical nationalists. She constructs an imaginary reality “where the tropes of wellness culture are disrupted by the healing potential of Black self-determination.” The work conflates fictional elements with stories of personal and collective loss, as well as the deficiencies of the (American) healthcare system. Moreover, the pandemic has revealed the blatant injustices that define healthcare systems around the world. The artist created this work last year against the backdrop of the presidential transition and the countless Covid-19 deaths in the United States. It is therefore not only dramatically timely, but simultaneously explores the issues of health, care, and truth as matters linked to skin color, privilege, and prevailing narratives.

Curated by Katja Schroeder


Ilana Harris-Babou (*1991, Brooklyn, NY) has exhibited throughout the US and Europe, with recent solo exhibitions at ICA @ UTC (Chattanooga), Jacob Lawrence Gallery (Seattle), The Museum of Arts & Design and HESSE FLATOW (New York). Other venues include CCA Wattis Institute (San Francisco), Queens Museum (New York), Istanbul Design Biennial (Istanbul), Kunsthal Charlottenborg (Copenhagen), Whitney Biennial (New York) the Jewish Museum, SculptureCenter, the Studio Museum in Harlem. She holds an MFA in Visual Art from Columbia University, and a BA in Art from Yale University.


Accompannying programme

Guided tours 
Friday, 1 October 2021, 6 pm (with the artist)
Sunday, 31 October 2021, 3 pm
Thursday, 11 November 2021, 6 pm
Sunday, 28 November 2021, 3 pm

Artist talk 
Moderation: Greg de Cuir Jr.
Friday, 15 October 2021, 6 pm

Finissage 
Sunday, 28 November 2021, 3 – 6 pm


Kindly supported by

Image 1–3: Ilana Harris-Babou, Wholesome Fun, installation view, Kunsthaus Hamburg, 2021, photo: Hayo Heye | Image 4: Ilana Harris-Babou, Decision Fatigue, 2020, film still, HD video, 8:33min., Courtesy: the artist | Image 5: Ilana Harris-Babou, Leaf of Life, 2021, film still, Multikanal Video Installation, Courtesy: the artist | Image 6: Ilana Harris-Babou, Human Design, 2019, film still, HD video, 5:40min., Courtesy: the artist

ILANA HARRIS-BABOU

Reines Vergnügen

Bildunterschriften siehe unten


Eröffnung
Freitag, 1. Oktober 2021

Mit Reines Vergnügen (Wholesome Fun) zeigt das Kunsthaus Hamburg die erst institutionelle Einzelausstellung von Ilana Harris-Babou in Europa, die parallel zu ihrer Einzelausstellung Tasteful Interiors am ICA @ UTC in Chattanooga, USA, 16.8. – 5.11.21 präsentiert wird.

In ihren Videoarbeiten, Collagen und Skulpturen vereint Harris-Babou Humor mit scharfer Gesellschaftskritik und nimmt damit eine künstlerische Position ein, der es gelingt, rassistische Strukturen und soziale Differenzen im Spiegel der westlich-hegemonialen Konsum- und Medienkultur sichtbar zu machen.

Dabei bedient sie sich der Sprache populärer Werbeformate auf Youtube und Instagram, in denen sowohl Firmen ihr Marken-Image entwerfen, als auch eine vornehmlich jüngere Generation ihren Warenkonsum als Lifestyle im Alltag, beim Kochen oder beim Heimwerken für die Kamera inszeniert. Hierin wird die Selbstermächtigung der Do-It-Yourself-Idee zum Paradigma der Selbstoptimierung, die neben praktischen Alltagstipps vor allem Effizienz, Performance und einen vermeintlich guten Geschmack propagiert.

Ihre Videoarbeiten präsentiert sie meist als räumliche Installationen in Kombination mit kleinformatigen Skulpturen oder Collagen. Die Absurdität dysfunktionaler – häufig getöpferter – Haushaltsutensilien und die selbstironische Performance der Künstlerin (zuweilen in Kooperation mit ihrer Mutter) persiflieren die Logik eines moralisch und ästhetisch optimierten Lifestyles. Mit ihren Arbeiten wie u. a. Reparation Hardware (2018) oder Human Design (2019) schafft sie einen Brückenschlag zwischen der obsessiven Ästhetisierung einer gegenwärtigen Wohlstandsgesellschaft, die jegliche Ungleichheit durch vermeintlich „authentisches“ Design nivelliert, und dem Trauma der Kolonialgeschichte, das bis heute vor allem die Realität junger Afroamerikaner prägt. Über den amerikanischen Kontext hinaus lassen sich in den Arbeiten allerdings auch viele Parallelen zu europäischen Verhältnissen finden, in welchen sowohl struktureller Rassismus als auch Privilegien einzelner Gesellschaftsgruppen im Alltag tief verankert sind.

In ihren neuesten Arbeiten Decision Fatigue und Leaf of Life (2020) beschäftigt sich Harris-Babou mit dem Boom der Wellness-Industrie und ihren populären Heilsversprechen. Dabei bezieht sie sich vor allem in der Mehrkanalinstallation Leaf of Life auf Narrative von Verschwörungstheorien, Gesundheitsgurus und evangelikalen Nationalisten. Sie entwirft eine imaginäre Wirklichkeit, in der sie die Selbstbestermächtigung der Schwarzen als heilende Kraft gegen die Trugbilder einer idealisierten Wellness-Kultur wirken lässt. Die Arbeit verbindet fiktive Momente mit Geschichten von persönlichem und kollektivem Verlust sowie den Defiziten im (amerikanischen) Gesundheitssystem. Gerade durch die Pandemie wird ebenso deutlich, welche eklatanten Ungleichheiten die Gesundheitsversorgung auch weltweit bestimmen. Die Arbeit entstand im letzten Jahr vor dem Hintergrund des amerikanischen Machtwechsels und der zahllosen Covid-19-Toten in Amerika. Sie ist damit nicht nur auf dramatische Weise hochaktuell, sondern verhandelt die Themen Gesundheit, Fürsorge und Wahrheit gleichzeitig auch als eine Frage von Hautfarbe, Privilegien und als allgemeingültig erklärter Narrative.

Kuratiert von Katja Schroeder


Ilana Harris-Babou (*1991, Brooklyn, NY) hat in den USA und Europa ausgestellt, zuletzt in Einzelausstellungen im ICA @ UTC (Chattanooga), Jacob Lawrence Gallery (Seattle), The Museum of Arts & Design und HESSE FLATOW (New York). Weitere Ausstellungsorte sind das CCA Wattis Institute (San Francisco), das Queens Museum (New York), die Istanbul Design Biennale (Istanbul), die Kunsthal Charlottenborg (Kopenhagen), die Whitney Biennale (New York), das Jewish Museum, das Sculpture Center und das Studio Museum in Harlem. Sie hat einen MFA in Visual Art von der Columbia University und einen BA in Kunst von der Yale University.


Kindly supported by Liebelt Stiftung Hamburg and Triangle Arts Association, New York

Foto 1: Ilana Harris-Babou, Leaf of Life, 2021, Filmstill, Multikanal Video Installation, Courtesy: the artist
Foto 2 – 3: Ilana Harris-Babou, Decision Fatigue, 2020, Filmstill, HD video, 8:33min., Courtesy: the artist
Foto 4: Ilana Harris-Babou, Human Design, 2019, Filmstill, HD video, 5:40min., Courtesy: the artist
Foto 5: Ilana Harris Babou, Finishing a raw basement, 2017, Filmstill, 4K video, 6:41mins., Courtesy: the artist