MADEYOULOOK

Mafolofolo Revisited

MADEYOILOOK, Mafolofolo Revisited, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2024, Grafikdesign: Laurens Bauer, Caspar Reuss

Graphic design: Laurens Bauer, Caspar Reuss


MADEYOULOOK
Mafolofolo Revisited

From 2.8.2024

The installation is open to the public around the clock.


Outside of the Kunsthaus Hamburg, the main road’s buzzy noise is interspersed with singing, conversations and nature sounds. What passers-by hear is the audio installation Mafolofolo Revisited (2024) by South African artist collaborative MADEYOULOOK. The sound piece is a sonic record of South Africa’s historical and contemporary relationship with the land and the ongoing longing for its preservation and care.

In the context of the street outside the Kunsthaus, the work attempts to connect one landscape with another. In an eleven-minute loop, the sound accompanies the urban life. Mafolofolo Revisited reflects on globally shared experiences of a loss of natural habitat and traditional ways of life and calls for collective efforts in finding solutions. A reading corner in the foyer of the Kunsthaus completes the installation and invites visitors to learn more about land-related issues in South Africa.

MADEYOULOOK’s interdisciplinary practice is based on Black everyday practices and is characterized by long-term research projects and collaborative endeavours. It is centred on an in-depth examination of the local spatial and social relationships—blurring boundaries between research and practice, content and form, artist and audience—in favour of the integration of art into everyday life.


Opening
Thursday, 1.8.2024, 6–10 pm
in the context of Panorama V


 
 

Supported by the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme with funds from the Federal Foreign Office

MADEYOULOOK

Mafolofolo Revisited

MADEYOILOOK, Mafolofolo Revisited, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2024, Grafikdesign: Laurens Bauer, Caspar Reuss

Grafikdesign: Laurens Bauer, Caspar Reuss


MADEYOULOOK
Mafolofolo Revisited

Ab 2.8.2024

Die Installation ist rund um die Uhr frei zugänglich


Im Außenbereich des Kunsthauses Hamburg wird der Lärm der viel befahrenen Hauptstraße von Gesang, Gesprächen und Naturgeräuschen durchbrochen. Zu hören ist die Soundinstallation Mafolofolo Revisited (2024) der südafrikanischen Künstler*innen-Kollaboration MADEYOULOOK. Historisch und gegenwärtig dokumentiert die Klangarbeit die vielfältigen Beziehungen der südafrikanischen Bevölkerung zur Natur und den Wunsch nach deren Bewahrung und Pflege.

Im Kontext der Straße vor dem Kunsthaus unternimmt die Arbeit den Versuch, die eine Landschaft mit der anderen zu verbinden. In einem elfminütigen Loop begleitet der Sound das städtische Leben. Mafolofolo Revisited lässt über global geteilte Erfahrungen eines Verlusts von natürlichem Lebensraum sowie tradierten Lebensweisen nachdenken und fragt nach kollektiven Lösungsansätzen. Eine Leseecke im Foyer des Kunsthauses ergänzt die Installation und lädt die Besucher*innen ein, sich eingehender mit der Landfrage in Südafrika zu beschäftigen.

Die interdisziplinäre Praxis von MADEYOULOOK geht von Schwarzen Alltagspraktiken aus und ist geprägt von langfristigen Forschungsvorhaben und kollaborativen Projekten. Im Zentrum steht dabei stets die Auseinandersetzung mit lokalen räumlichen und sozialen Beziehungen sowie Formen der Grenzauflösung – zwischen Forschung und Praxis, Inhalt und Form, Künstler*in und Publikum – zugunsten einer Verortung von Kunst im alltäglichen Leben.


Eröffnung
Donnerstag, 1.8.2024, 18–22 Uhr
im Rahmen von Panorama V


 
 
 
Gefördert vom Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD aus Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes (AA)