Leyla Yenirce

Leyla Yenirce, Paradise, 2019, film still


Leyla Yenirce
15 October – 4 December 2022

Opening
14 December 2022

Leyla Yenirce is a young and already much awarded Hamburg artist (*1992 in Kurdistan), who will realize her first solo exhibition at Kunsthaus Hamburg. Her artistic practice can be described as an attempt to come to terms with the incomprehensibility of extremes and to combine what is assumed to be opposited: Feminism and war, pop culture and genocide, desire, longing and irony.

Based on her exploration of the history of her home country Kurdistan, Yenirce’s multimedia installations address the conceptual level of martyrs’ images. Her 5-channel video installation PARADISE deals with the emotional language of images of female freedom fighters and shows the fine line between transfiguring mythology and resistant emancipation.

Yenirce also takes up the motif of resilience in sound installations in which she mixes voices with noise and synthesizers, and extends it in her performances through bodies that assume hybrid identities.

Curated by Anna Nowak


Kindly supported by

Leyla Yenirce

Leyla Yenirce, Paradise, 2019, Filmstill


Leyla Yenirce
15. Oktober – 4. Dezember 2022

Eröffnung
14. Dezember 2022

Leyla Yenirce ist eine junge und bereits viel ausgezeichnete Hamburger Künstlerin (*1992 in Kurdistan), die im Kunsthaus Hamburg ihre erste Einzelausstellung realisieren wird. Ihre künstlerische Praxis kann als Versuch beschrieben werden, mit der Unbegreiflichkeit von Extremen zurecht zu kommen und zu verbinden, was als Gegensatz erscheint: Feminismus und Krieg, Popkultur und Genozid, Begehren, Sehnsucht und Ironie.

Basierend auf ihrer Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte ihres Heimatlandes Kurdistan thematisiert Yenirce in ihren Multimedia-Installationen die konzeptuelle Ebene von Märtyrer*innen-Bildnissen. Ihre 5-Kanal-Videoinstellation PARADISE beschäftigt sich mit der emotionalen Sprache der Bilder von Freiheitskämpferinnen und zeigt den schmalen Grat zwischen verklärender Mythologie und widerständiger Emanzipation auf.

Auch in Klanginstallationen, in denen sie Stimmen mit Rauschen und Synthesizern mischt, greift Yenirce das Motiv der Resilienz auf und erweitert diese in ihren Performances durch Körper, die hybride Identitäten annehmen.

Kuratiert von Anna Nowak


Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von