hybrID

Taysir Batniji, James Bridle, Nidhal Chamekh, Aleksandra Domanović, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Admire Kamudzengerere, Rachel Monosov, Raqs Media Collective, Slavs and Tatars, The Otolith Group, Sung Tieu, Helena Wittmann, Guan Xiao

Captions see below


hybrID
Taysir Batniji, James Bridle, Nidhal Chamekh, Aleksandra Domanović, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Admire Kamudzengerere, Rachel Monosov, Raqs Media Collective, Slavs and Tatars, The Otolith Group, Sung Tieu, Helena Wittmann, Guan Xiao

3 September – 17 November 2019

Opening
Monday, 2 September 2019, 7 pm
Speakers: Katja Schroeder (Artistic Director), Anna Nowak (Curator)
Following: Rachel Monosov, Sung Tieu (Performances)

The theme of cultural diversity is more relevant than ever today throughout Europe. In July 2018, The Brussels Declaration – For the Freedom of the Arts was published stating: “Culture emerges through exchange, not through isolation.” Currently, the initiative Wir sind Viele (We Are Many) is taking a strong stand for a diverse and solidary art and culture scene.

The exhibition hybrID starts from these discourses. The aim of the project is to discuss from an artistic point of view the ambivalence and complexity of spatial and cultural localization in our globally connected world.

Through digital communication and the rapidity of technological developments we are living in a time of transformation. We must constantly learn to reorient ourselves, since new technologies such as apps are impacting our daily lives and information flows are appearing to become ever more complex and non-transparent. Owing to the trend toward individualization processes, one’s own identity is regarded as something that must be permanently optimized. This has become the fundamental obsession of our present lives. Identity is defined not only through unmistakable individuality but also constitutes our social sense of belonging. Especially in the current social debates and political polarizations, the concept is mainly being misused and associated all over the world with notions of the local and original as a means to reinforce power structures. But the complexity of cultural globalization—who we are, how we evolve, and how we relate to our fellow human beings—is not taken into consideration in a differentiated way.

In our multi-mobile age, in which national discourses are inextricably linked to international developments, the understanding of a sense of belonging as something static, geographically anchored, must urgently be called into questions. Not only at the moment are flight and displacement leading to waves of migration in many places, humankind has migrated throughout the most part of its history. Cultures are therefore never homogeneous, they always emerge through exchange with other cultures, reciprocal acceptance and demarcation—they are hybrid.

The exhibition hybrID is a contemporary reflection on identity construction in the context of technological, political and historical developments. It brings together international artists grasping identity as an open construction that refers to global interconnections and hybridity. The artists address and analyze the contradictory tendencies between networking on the one side and the increasing trend to solidify borders on the other. Their themes range from identification and self-localization to uprootedness and the question of national borders. In complex ways, the artworks reflect the relations of cause and effect of digitization against the background of global relationships.

Curator: Anna Nowak


Tuesday, 3 September, 7 pm
Artist talk
Admire Kamudzengerere, Helena Wittmann,
Anna Nowak (Moderation)

Monday, 7 October, 7 pm
Lecture-Performance
Red-Black Thread with Slavs and Tatars

Monday, 11 November, 7 pm
Lecture-Performance
On Numbers and their Shadows by Shuddhabrata Sengupta (Raqs Media Collective)

Guided tours 
Sunday, 22 September, 3 pm
Thursday, 24 Oktober, 6 pm
Friday, 15 November, 1 pm


    

Photo 1 – 4: hybrID, Installationview, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2019, Photo: Hayo Heye
Photo 5: Detail: Admire Kamudzengerere, Open Line, 2017, Photo: Hayo Heye

hybrID

Taysir Batniji, James Bridle, Nidhal Chamekh, Aleksandra Domanović, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Admire Kamudzengerere, Rachel Monosov, Raqs Media Collective, Slavs and Tatars, The Otolith Group, Sung Tieu, Helena Wittmann, Guan Xiao

Bildunterschriften stehen unten


hybrID
Taysir Batniji, James Bridle, Nidhal Chamekh, Aleksandra Domanović, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Admire Kamudzengerere, Rachel Monosov, Raqs Media Collective, Slavs and Tatars, The Otolith Group, Sung Tieu, Helena Wittmann, Guan Xiao

3. September – 17. November 2019

Ausstellungseröffnung
Montag, 2. September 2019, 19 Uhr

Es sprechen: Katja Schroeder (Künstlerische Leitung), Anna Nowak (Kuratorin)
Im Anschluss: Rachel Monosov, Sung Tieu (Performances)

Das Thema der kulturellen Vielfalt ist europaweit aktueller denn je. Im Juli 2018 wurde die Brüsseler Erklärung „Für die Freiheit der Kunst“ veröffentlicht, in der heißt es „Kultur entsteht durch Austausch, nicht durch Abschottung(Auszug).“ Aktuell setzt sich des Weiteren die Initative „Wir sind Viele“, vehement mit Demonstrationen und Aktionen füreine vielfältige und solidarische Kunst- und Kulturszene ein.

Die Ausstellung hybrID setzt an diesen Diskursen an. Ziel des Projektes ist es, die Ambivalenz und Vielschichtigkeit räumlicher und kultureller Verortung in unserer global vernetzten Welt aus künstlerischer Perspektive zu diskutieren.

Durch digitale Kommunikation und das schnelle Tempo der technologischen Entwicklung leben wir in einer Zeit der Transformation. Wir müssen ständig lernen uns neu zu orientieren, da fortwährend neue Technologien wie Apps unseren Alltag bestimmen, Informationsflüsse immer vielschichtiger werden und undurchsichtiger erscheinen. Durch den Trend zu Individualisierungsprozessen gilt die eigene Identität als etwas stets optimierbares. Sie ist zu einer grundlegenden Obsession unseres heutigen Lebens geworden. Identität definiert sich dabei nicht nur über das unverwechselbar Individuelle, sie stellt gleichzeitig auch die soziale Zugehörigkeit dar. Insbesondere in aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Debatten und politischen Polarisierungen wird der Begriff vor allem instrumentalisiert und weltweit mit universellen Vorstellungen des Lokalen, Ursprünglichen verbunden, als Mittel zur Stärkung von Machtstrukturen. Die Komplexität der kulturellen Globalisierung jedoch – wer wir sind, wie wir werden und wie wir mit unseren Mitmenschen in Beziehung stehen – wird nicht differenziert betrachtet.

Im multimobilen Zeitalter, in dem nationale Diskurse untrennbar mit internationalen Entwicklungen verknüpft sind, muss das Verständnis von Zugehörigkeit als etwas statisches, geografisch verankertes dringend hinterfragt werden. Nicht nur aktuell sorgen Flucht und Vertreibung vielerorts für Wanderungswellen, über die längste Zeit ihrer Geschichte ist die Menschheit migriert. So sind Kulturen nie homogen, sie entstehen immer aus dem Austausch mit anderen Kulturen, dem gegenseitigen Aufnehmen und Abgrenzen – sie sind hybrid.

Die Ausstellung hybrID ist ein zeitgenössisches Nachdenken über Identitätskonstruktionen im Kontext von technologischen, politischen und historischen Entwicklungen. Sie versammelt internationale Künstler/innen, die Identität als offenes Konstrukt begreifen, das auf globale Zusammenhänge und das Hybride verweist. Die Künstler/innen thematisieren die widersprüchlichen Tendenzen zwischen Vernetzung auf der einen, und dem steigenden Trend zur Festigung von Grenzen auf der anderen Seite und analysieren diese. Dabei reichen ihre Themen von Identifikation und Selbstverortung bis hin zur Entwurzelung und der Frage nach nationalen Grenzen. Die künstlerischen Arbeiten reflektieren vielschichtig die Ursache-Wirkungs-Beziehung derDigitalisierung vor dem Hintergrund globaler Zusammenhänge.

Kuratiert von Anna Nowak

Ausstellungsbroschüre zum Download hier.


Dienstag, 3. September, 19 Uhr
Künstlergespräch 
Admire Kamudzengerere, Helena Wittmann, Anna Nowak (Moderation)

Montag, 7. Oktober, 19 Uhr 
Lecture-Performance
Red-Black Thread mit Slavs and Tatars

Montag, 11. November, 19 Uhr
Lecture-Performance
On Numbers and their Shadows von Shuddhabrata Sengupta (Raqs Media Collective)

Ausstellungsrundgänge:
Sonntag, 22. September, 15 Uhr
Donnerstag, 24. Oktober, 18 Uhr
Freitag, 15. November, 13 Uhr


Förderer/ Kooperationspartner:

Bild 1 – 4: hybrID, Installationsansichten, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2019, Fotos: Hayo Heye
Bild 5: Detail: Admire Kamudzengerere, Open Line, 2017, Fotos: Hayo Heye