Lecture-Performance

Red-Black Thread with Slavs and Tatars

hybrID, Installationview, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2019, Photo: Hayo Heye


Monday, 7 October, 7 pm
Lecture-Performance
Red-Black Thread with Slavs and Tatars

The art collective Slavs and Tatars addresses the interweaving of contemporary anthropology and transnational politics in its extensive installations, consisting of prints, text material, sculpture, audio and video works. A central and connecting element for them is language in the context of religion, power and identity building.

Red-Black Thread explores the construction of black identity not from the traditional perspective of the Anglophone and Francophone worlds of the Atlantic but rather by shifting it to the Russophone idiom of imperial Russia and the Soviet Union. Commissioned by the Walker and Metropolitan Museums on the occasion of the Siah Armajani retrospective “Follow This Line”, Red-Black Thread looks at the experience of labor, race, and sexuality from a shared Russian / Soviet and African-American perspective to better understand failed promises of conviviality and co-existence.


Slavs and Tatars was founded in 2006 by Kasia Korczak (Poland) and Panyam Sharifi (Texas/Iran). They describe themselves as a “faction of polemics and intimacies devoted to an area east of the former Berlin Wall and west of the Great Wall of China known as Eurasia”. The two artists also publish books and give lecture performances. Their works are represented in important international museums and at biennials, among others: Tate Modern (London), the Centre Pompidou (Paris), the Museum of Modern Art, Warsaw. Their works have also been the subject of solo exhibitions at the 58th Venice Biennale (2019); Salt, Istanbul (2017); Institute for Modern Art, Brisbane (2015); Kunsthalle Zurich (2014); Dallas Museum of Art (2014), MoMA, New York (2012); and Secession, Vienna (2012). Slavs and Tatars have published several books: Kidnapping Mountains (Buchwerke, 2009), Not Moscow Not Mecca (Revolver / Secession, 2012), Khhhhhhh (Mousse / Moravia Gallery, 2012), Friendship of Nations: Polish Shi’ite Showbiz (2nd Edition, Bookworks, 2017), as well as a translation of the famous Azerbaijani satire Molla Nasreddin (IB Tauris).

Slavs and Tatars

Lecture-Performance: Red-Black Thread

hybrID, Installationsansicht, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2019, Foto: Hayo Heye


Montag, 7. Oktober, 19 Uhr 
Lecture-Performance
Red-Black Thread mit Slavs and Tatars

Das Künstlerkollektiv Slavs and Tatars thematisiert in ihren umfangreichen Installationen, bestehend aus Druckgraphik, Textmaterial, Skulptur, Audio- und Videoarbeiten, die Verflechtung von zeitgenössischer Anthropologie und transnationaler Politik. Ein zentrales und verbindendes Element ist für sie die Sprache im Kontext von Religion, Macht und Identitätsbildung.

Die Lecture-Performance Red-Black Thread untersucht die Entwicklung der schwarzen Identität, nicht aus der traditionellen Perspektive der englisch- und französischsprachigen Welt, vielmehr betrachtet sie diese im Kontext der russischsprachigen Idiome des ehemaligen Kaiserreichs und der Sowjetunion. Red-Black Thread entstand im Rahmen der Retrospektive von Siah Armajani am Walker und Metropolitan Museum in den USA. Die Lecture-Performance widmet sich Themen wie Arbeit, ethnischer Zugehörigkeit und Sexualität aus einer gemeinsamen russisch-sowjetischen und afroamerikanischen Perspektive, um dem gescheiterten Versprechen einer friedlichen Weltgemeinschaft auf den Grund zu gehen.


Slavs and Tatars bezeichnen sich selbst als „Splittergruppe der Polemik und engen Freundschaft“, die sich einem Gebiet „östlich der ehemaligen Berliner Mauer und westlich der Chinesischen Mauer“, bekannt als Eurasien, widmet. Das Künstlerkollektiv veröffentlicht auch Publikationen und hält Lecture Performances. Ihre Arbeiten sind in bedeutenden internationalen Museen und auf Biennalen vertreten, u.a.: Tate Modern (London), das Centre Pompidou (Paris), das Museum of Modern Art, Warschau. Ihre Arbeiten waren auch Gegenstand von Einzelausstellungen auf der 58. Bienale von Venedig (2019); Salt, Istanbul (2017); Institut für moderne Kunst, Brisbane (2015); Kunsthalle Zürich (2014); Dallas Museum of Art (2014), das MoMA, New York (2012); und Secession, Wien (2012). Slavs and Tatars haben mehrere Bücher veröffentlicht: Kidnapping Mountains (Buchwerke, 2009), Not Moscow Not Mecca (Revolver / Secession, 2012), Khhhhhhh (Mousse / Moravia Gallery, 2012), Friendship of Nations: Polish Shi’ite Showbiz (2nd Edition, Bookworks, 2017), sowie eine Übersetzung der legendären aserbaidschanischen Satire Molla Nasreddin (IB Tauris).