from creatures to creators

Saelia Aparicio, Samara Daioub & Zion König, Ed Fornieles, Pakui Hardware, Alfred Kubin, Mary Maggic, Bernard Picart, Tabita Rezaire, Amalia Ulman, Emmanuel Van der Auwera, Steffen Zillig

See captions below.


Opening afternoon, 4 – 9 pm
Friday, 23 July 2021
Free admission with distance and mask. Thank you for understanding the limitation of visitors in the exhibition. Prior registration and test are not necessary.

Exhibition brochure 


Death has recently come disturbingly close. Inevitably, as a result of the global pandemic, everyone is somehow confronted with mortality. However, it is not only because of the current situation that the desire for a long life has taken on a completely new meaning.

Through the paradigm of science, death is no longer a divine decree, but rather a technical challenge. According to the latest findings of biogerontologists, the life span can already be extremely extended with the help of the right tools. There are, for example, “biohackers” who are researching ways to intervene in the human organism to improve its performance, optimize the body or manipulate the DNA. Transhumanists likewise are increasingly seeking to overcome biological limitations through technological solutions. Inevitably, the question arises whether the development of an artificial intelligence (AI) on a par with humans does not actually mean the end of Homo sapiens.

The exhibition from creatures to creators explores concepts of humanity with regard to our future subsistence. It assembles international artists who, from multiple angels, shed a light on ways of dealing with our human existence, including future conceptions of it, and also dare to conjure visions going beyond the finite, conceiving the superhuman. Spanning installations, sculptures, murals and video works, the exhibition thus combines a wide range of artistic approaches, negotiating complex subject matter such as invisible lines of molecular (bio)power, processes of self-optimization, spiritual healing and the prospect of eternal life.


Accompannying programme

im-mortal
Interdisciplinary series of lectures

Guided tours
Tuesday, 10 August 2021, 6 pm
Tuesday, 31 August 2021, 6 pm
Sunday, 19 September 2021, 4 pm


Kindly supported by

Photo 1: Samara Daioub & Zion König, 3D Design, 2021
Photo 2: Pakui Hardware, Thrivers, 2019. photo: Ugnius Gelguda
Photo 3: Stools Made for Design Miami: Americas, 2020, Saelia Aparicio, photo: Tom Hartford, Courtesy: the artist and FUMI gallery
Photo 4: Saelia Aparicio, From your exotic garden to your worst nightmare, 2020, | Image: PUBLIC Gallery, Courtesy: the artist and PUBLIC Gallery
Photo 5: Saelia Aparicio, Animistic aliens, 2021

from creatures to creators

Saelia Aparicio, Samara Daioub & Zion König, Ed Fornieles, Pakui Hardware, Alfred Kubin, Mary Maggic, Bernard Picart, Tabita Rezaire, Amalia Ulman, Emmanuel Van der Auwera, Steffen Zillig

Bildunterschriften siehe unten.


Eröffnungsnachmittag 16 – 21 Uhr
Freitag, 23. Juli 2021
Mit Abstand und Maske gibt es freien Eintritt. Wir bitten um Verständnis für die Beschränkung der Personenzahl beim Einlass. Eine Anmeldung vorab und ein Test sind nicht nötig.

Ausstellungsbroschüre

Kurzvideos im Kontext der Ausstellung

Virtueller Ausstellungsrundgang

Audio Guides


Der Tod ist beunruhigend dicht an uns herangekommen. Zwangsläufig setzt sich jeder Mensch durch die globale Pandemie mit Sterblichkeit auseinander. Der Wunsch nach langem Leben hat aber nicht erst durch die jetzige Situation eine völlig neue Bedeutung bekommen.

Durch das Paradigma der Wissenschaft ist der Tod kein göttliches Dekret mehr, sondern eher ein technisches Problem. Nach neuesten Erkenntnissen von Biogerontologen lässt sich die Lebensdauer mit Hilfe der richtigen Werkzeuge jetzt schon extrem ausweiten. So erforschen „Biohacker“ Möglichkeiten in den humanen Organismus einzugreifen, um seine Performance zu verbessern, den Körper zu optimieren oder die DNA zu manipulieren. Und auch die Transhumanisten suchen verstärkt biologische Grenzen durch technologischen Einsatz zu überwinden. Zwangsläufig stellt sich die Frage, ob die Entwicklung einer dem Menschen ebenbürtigen Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) nicht auch das Ende des Homo Sapiens bedeutet.

Die Ausstellung from creatures to creators befasst sich mit dem Menschsein im Hinblick auf unsere zukünftige Existenz. Sie versammelt internationale Künstler*innen, die den Umgang mit dem menschlichen Dasein und den zukünftigen Vorstellungen dessen vielfältig beleuchten und auch den Versuch wagen, über das Endliche hinweg das Übermenschliche weiterzudenken. In der Ausstellung werden unterschiedliche künstlerische Ansätze vereint und unsichtbare Linien molekularer (Bio-)Macht, Selbstoptimierungsprozesse, spirituelle Heilung und die Aussicht auf ewiges Leben vielschichtig diskutiert.


Rahmenprogramm

un-sterblich
Interdisziplinäre Vortragsreihe

Ausstellungsrundgänge
Dienstag, 10. August 2021, 18 Uhr
Dienstag, 31. August 2021, 18 Uhr
Sonntag, 19. September 2021, 16 Uhr


Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Foto 1 – 11: from creatures to creators, Installationsansicht, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2021, Foto: Hayo Heye
Foto 12: from creatures to creators, Installationsansicht, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2021, Detail: Bernard Picart, Tithon, mari de l’Aurore, change en cigale, 1730 (Reproduktion), Foto: Hayo Heye
Foto 13: from creatures to creators, Installationsansicht, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2021, Detail: Pakui Hardware, Thrivers, 2019, Foto: Hayo Heye
Foto 14: from creatures to creators, Installationsansicht, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2021, Detail: Alfred Kubin, Die Stunde der Geburt, Hans-von-Weber-Mappe, Nr. 524, Foto: Hayo Heye