Flaka Haliti

Here – Or Rather There, Is Over There

Credits see below

Opening: 19 March 2018, 7 pm
Welcome: Katja Schroeder (Artistic Director, Kunsthaus Hamburg)
Introduction: Anna Sabrina Schmid (curator, Kunsthaus Hamburg)


Guided tour with short film special
Thursday, 12 April, 6 pm

Special programme for the Long Night of Museums
21 April, 6 pm – 2 am

Artist talk with Flaka Haliti and Adam Szymczyk
Wednesday, 25 April, 7 pm

Pfeil Magazine #9 with Flaka Haliti
Release to be announced

Closing event with guided tour and concert: Love-Songs
Sunday, 20 May, 4 pm

There is a sense of longing in the works by Flaka Haliti. They have a subtle humour, which not seldom shifts into something tragic. Flaka Haliti uses this humour as a strategy for acquainting herself with the world. Her poetic objects, photographs and drawings testify to how she gives form to the intangible, or literally gives it a face, familiarising herself with the world in this way.

Haliti also uses Joe, a fictional character and the artist’s alter ego, to venture into the confusion of the present. Joe is a genderless character, who appears in Haliti’s artistic work in a multitude of forms: Whether as a sponge with self-adhesive wiggle eyes or a two-legged sculpture in curved steel—Joe spooks through Haliti’s exhibitions, embodying an (artist-) individual under the pressure of neo-liberal living and working conditions, constant self-renewal, (re-)presentation and productivity.

Flaka Haliti works with everyday objects and aesthetics such as Ikea bags, children’s drawings, in-store displays, junk and barriers. In her works, these become, for example, a ghost Concerned by the Ghost Without Being Bothered, 2017 or a robot Its Urgency Got Lost in Reverse (While Being in Constant Delay), 2017. With just a few strokes, Haliti gives these non-human beings such charismatic features that they immediately become our friends.

The abstract and yet at the same time concrete works by Haliti initially seem cheerful, yet they frequently point to questions of systemic violence and dubious authority of interpretation, to limitations as well as the overcoming of them. Haliti reflects on our existence in the midst of constructed inclusions and exclusions. Large sculptures based on UN security barriers refer to territorial, political borders, while a five-metre-long curtain with a celestial gradation of colour and the title Just Hanging Around symbolises gentle—though nonetheless challenging—obstacles.

The exhibition will be realised in collaboration with the Kunsthalle Lingen.

Flaka Haliti (*1982 in Pristina, lives and works in Munich) studied graphic design at the Universiteti i Prishtinës, Pristina (2002-2006) followed by fine art at the Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main. She is currently studying for her PhD in Practice at the University of Applied Arts Vienna. She presented her first institutional solo exhibition in Germany in Kunsthalle Lingen in 2017. Her works have been shown internationally in solo exhibitions in the pavilion of the Republic of Kosovo at the 56th Venice Biennale (2015), mumok Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Vienna (2014) and in the Kosovo National Museum, Pristina (2014), among others.

Images 1-3: Flaka Haliti, installation view, Here – Or Rather There, Is Over There, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2018, photo: Michael Pfisterer
Image 4: Detail: Flaka Haliti, Is It You, Joe? (vomit), 2017, photo: Michael Pfisterer

Flaka Haliti

Here – Or Rather There, Is Over There

Bildcredits siehe unten


Flaka Haliti – Here – Or Rather There, Is Over There

Eröffnung: 19. März 2018, 19 Uhr
Begrüßung: Katja Schroeder (Künstlerische Leitung, Kunsthaus Hamburg)
Einführung: Anna Sabrina Schmid (Kuratorin, Kunsthaus Hamburg)

PROGRAMM

Ausstellungsrundgang mit Kurzfilmspecial
Donnerstag, 12. April, 18 Uhr

Sonderprogramm zur Langen Nacht der Museen
Samstag, 21. April, 18 – 2 Uhr

Künstlerinnengespräch mit Flaka Haliti und Adam Szymczyk
Mittwoch, 25. April 19 Uhr

Pfeil Magazine #9 unter anderem mit Flaka Haliti
Release to be announced

Finissage mit Ausstellungsrundgang und Konzert: Love-Songs
Sonntag, 20. April, 15 Uhr


Die Arbeiten von Flaka Haliti haben etwas Sehnsüchtiges an sich. Ihnen ist ein zarter Humor zu eigen, der nicht selten ins Tragische kippt. Flaka Haliti setzt diesen Humor als Strategie der Weltaneignung ein. Ihre poetischen Objekte, Fotografien und Zeichnungen zeugen davon, wie sie Ungreifbarem eine Gestalt oder wortwörtlich ein Gesicht gibt und sich die Welt auf diese Weise vertraut macht.

Auch durch Joe, ein fiktionaler Charakter und Alter Ego der Künstlerin, erschließt sich Haliti die unübersichtliche Gegenwart. Joe ist eine genderlose Figur, die in mannigfaltigen Formen als künstlerische Arbeit erscheint: Ob Schwamm mit selbstklebenden Wackelaugen oder zweibeinige Skulptur aus gebogenem Stahl – Joe geistert durch Halitis Ausstellungen und verkörpert hier ein (Künstler*innen-) Individuum unter dem Druck neoliberaler Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen, permanenter Selbsterneuerung, (Re-)Präsentation und Produktivität.

Flaka Haliti arbeitet mit Gebrauchsobjekten und Alltagsästhetiken wie Ikea-Tüten, Kinderzeichnungen, Werbeaufstellern, Schrott und Absperrungen. Diese werden in Halitis Arbeiten beispielsweise zum Geist (Concerned by the Ghost Without Being Bothered, 2017) oder zum Roboter [Its Urgency Got Lost in Reverse (While Being in Constant Delay), 2017]. Mit wenigen Strichen verleiht Haliti diesen nicht-menschlichen Wesen derart charismatische Züge, dass sie umgehend zu unseren Vertrauten werden.

Die abstrakten und zugleich konkreten Arbeiten von Haliti erscheinen erstmal heiter, doch verweisen sie nicht selten auf Fragen von systemischer Gewalt und zweifelhaften Deutungshoheiten, auf Grenzen sowie deren Überwindung. Haliti reflektiert unser Sein inmitten konstruierter gesellschaftlicher Ein- und Ausschlüsse. Großformatige Skulpturen in Anlehnung an UN-Sicherheitsabsperrungen beziehen sich auf territoriale, politische Grenzziehungen, während ein fünf Meter langer Vorhang mit einem himmlischen Farbverlauf und dem Titel Just Hanging Around weiche – aber nicht minder schwere – Hürden versinnbildlicht.

Die Ausstellung wird in Kooperation mit der Kunsthalle Lingen und der National Gallery of Tirana realisiert.


Flaka Haliti (*1982 in Pristina, lebt und arbeitet in München) studierte Grafikdesign an der Universiteti i Prishtinës, Pristina (2002-2006) und anschließend Bildende Kunst an der Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main. Derzeit macht sie den PhD in Practice an der Universität für angewandte Kunst, Wien. Ihre erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in Deutschland zeigte sie 2017 in der Kunsthalle Lingen. International wurden ihre Arbeiten unter anderem im Pavillon der Republik Kosovo bei der 56. Biennale von Venedig (2015), mumok, Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Wien (2014) und im Kosovo National Museum, Pristina (2014) in Einzelausstellungen präsentiert.

Bild 1: Flaka Haliti, I See a Face. Do You See a Face. #03, 2014, Courtesy die Künstlerin und Deborah Schamoni, München, LambdaLambdaLambda, Pristina
Bild 2: Flaka Haliti, Its Urgency Got Lost in Reverse (While Being in Constant Delay), 2017, Installationsansicht Flaka Haliti – Its Urgency Got Lost in Reverse (While Being in Constant Delay)‚ LambdaLambdaLambda, Pristina, Courtesy die Künstlerin und LambdaLambdaLambda, Pristina, Foto: Majlinda HoxhaBild
Bild 3: Flaka Haliti, Concerned by the Ghost Without Being Bothered, 2017, Installationsansicht Art Basel Parcours, Courtesy die Künstlerin und Deborah Schamoni, München, Foto: Gunnar Meyer