Tejal Shah

UNBECOMING


Images 1 – 4, 6: Tejal Shah, installation view, UNBECOMING, Kunsthaus Hamburg 2017, Courtesy the artist, Project 88, Mumbai and Barbara Gross Galerie, Munich, photo: Hayo Heye
Image 5: Tejal Shah, detail from the series unbecoming, 2017, Courtesy the artist, Project 88, Mumbai and Barbara Gross Galerie, Munich, photo: Hayo Heye


TEJAL SHAH – UNBECOMING
Curator: Chus Martínez

Opening: 24 October 2017, 7 pm
Speakers: Jana Schiedek, (Ministry of Culture and Media, Hamburg), Katja Schroeder (Kunsthaus Hamburg), Michaela Melián (HFBK Hamburg)

Exhibition walk-throughs
Thursday, 16 November 2017, 6 pm
Sunday, 26 November 2017, 3 pm


PROGRAMME

Film screenings
Saturday, 21 October, 6 pm
Other Species, Other Times
A program of single channel moving image works curated by Lalitha Gopalan and Anuj Vaidya, 60 minutes
Hamburg University of Fine Arts (HFBK), room 229, Lerchenfeld 2, 22081 Hamburg

Sunday, 22 October, 6 pm
Koi Sunta Hai: Journeys with Kumar & Kabir (Someone is listening)
documentary film, director: Shabnam Virmani, 96 minutes, 2008, language: Hindi, Malwi & English with English subtitles
Hamburg University of Fine Arts (HFBK), room 229, Lerchenfeld 2, 22081 Hamburg

Artist presentations
Wednesday, 25 October, 6 pm
Lecture performance by Shabnam Virmani and Tejal Shah, followed by Q&A
Hamburg University of Fine Arts (HFBK), Aula, Lerchenfeld 2, 22081 Hamburg


The aesthetic practice of the Indian artist Tejal Shah (*1979, Bhilai) encompasses video, photography, performances, drawings, sound works, and spatial installations. Her works compellingly engage us in layered propositions on the co-dependent relationships between gender, ecology, science, sexuality, and consciousness. Informed by queer, feminist, and Buddhist thought, Shah questions systematic dualistic differentiations and seamlessly integrates important reflections on violence and power on the one hand, and love and regeneration on the other. Particularly in the context of her native country India, her unique artistic position is a testimony of courage, outstanding in quality, and independence.

At the Kunsthaus Hamburg, Shah will present her 5-channel video installation Between the Waves as an extensive spatial experience. In the installation, which premiered at dOCUMENTA (13), the artist develops her own vision of a cosmology that breaks with all standard conceptions of corporeality and consciousness, dissolving the boundaries between human, nature, culture, and other species. The humanimal protagonists that appear in the films unselfconsciously embody ritualistic and intuitive explorations, unapologetically seeking closeness. The artist presents a radical imagination that is both a utopia and a dystopia. It can be asked if this deeply impressive as well as disturbing vision of a humankind haunted by waves of love over and over, will change anything in this world, as it is. Beyond the video installation, the Kunsthaus Hamburg is showing collages that are thematically linked to the films and premiering her new drawing installation unbecoming, which pivots on the Mahayana Buddhist ideal of the figure of the Bodhisattva.

In collaboration with the Hamburg University of Fine Arts, HFBK (Prof. Michaela Melián), Tejal Shah will outline the specific cultural context in which her works are created by presenting two film programmes. She has invited the Indian filmmaker and singer Shabnam Virmani as a special guest, whose films she will present and discuss. The works of both artists contain multiple thematic and conceptual links and they will jointly conduct a day-long workshop with the students at HFBK.

Shah will furthermore elucidate her current research on October 25 in a performance lecture also presented at the HFBK. For over two years, she has been focusing on key aspects of Tibetan Buddhism, which follows the Middle Way Philosophy School, a legacy of the erstwhile Nalanda University. She is thus drawing upon a living spiritual tradition that offers some of the most profound and scientifically compatible perspectives on the nature of reality and consciousness. Her main interest is in the practical application of the core insights proposed by this body of knowledge and its relevance to the total process of living in consonance. In Hamburg, she will give a public account of this intensive form of aesthetic research for the first time and Shabnam Virmani will also make an artist presentation alongside. This will further provide special insight into their practices, which are respectively both critical and urgent in the present cultural landscape of India.

Tejal Shah (*1979, Bhilai, India) studied at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Australia, and at the Art Institute of Chicago in the United States. She has participated in numerous international exhibitions, and her films have been presented at various film festivals; among other venues, she has shown her works at the Museum of Modern Art, Oslo (2016/17), the Whitechapel Gallery, London (2014), the Gujral Foundation, New Delhi (2014), dOCUMENTA (13) (2012), the Centre Pompidou (2011), and the Tate Modern (2006). In Germany, she is represented by the Barbara Gross Galerie, Munich, and in India by Project 88, Mumbai.

Further information on the exhibition and Tejal Shah’s recommended reading can be downloaded.

Some sequences might be unsuited for children and young people under the age of 18.


The events presented in cooperation with the Hamburg University of Fine Arts are associated with the doctorate graduate program “Aesthetics of the Virtual”, which is supported by the Landesforschungsförderung.

       


Kindly supported by:


The exhibition is taking place in the context of India Week, Hamburg.

Tejal Shah

UNBECOMING

Bilder 1-4: Tejal Shah, Between the Waves, 2012, Videostill, Courtesy die Künstlerin, Project 88, Mumbai und Barbara Gross Galerie, München
Bild 5: Tejal Shah, Between the Waves – Inner, 2012


TEJAL SHAH – UNBECOMING
kuratiert von Chus Martínez

Eröffnung: 24. Oktober 2017, 19 Uhr


PROGRAMM

Filmscreenings
Samstag, 21. Oktober, 18 Uhr
Other Species, Other Times
Ein Filmprogramm, kuratiert von Lalitha Gopalan und Anuj Vaidya, 60 Minuten
HFBK Hamburg, Hörsaal 229, Lerchenfeld 2, 22081 Hamburg

Sonntag, 22. Oktober, 18 Uhr
Koi Sunta Hai: Journeys with Kumar & Kabir (Someone is listening)
Dokumentarfilm, Regisseurin: Shabnam Virmani, 96 Minuten, 2008, Sprache: Hindi, Malwi & Englisch mit englischen Untertiteln
HFBK Hamburg, Hörsaal 229, Lerchenfeld 2, 22081 Hamburg

Lecture-Performance
Mittwoch, 25. Oktober, 18:00 Uhr
Tejal Shah und Shabnam Virmani im Gespräch
HFBK Hamburg, Aula, Lerchenfeld 2, 22081 Hamburg


Die künstlerische Praxis der aus Indien stammenden Künstlerin Tejal Shah (*1979, Bhilai) umfasst Video, Fotografie, Performance, Zeichnung, Sound und Installation. Ihre Arbeiten vermitteln ein vielschichtiges Bild von den wechselseitigen Beziehungen zwischen Gender, Ökologie, Wissenschaft, Sexualität und Bewusstsein. Shah bezieht sich in ihrer Auseinandersetzung auf queere, feministische sowie buddhistische Konzepte und stellt vor diesem Hintergrund generell dualistische Kategorisierungen (wie zum Beispiel Mann/Frau, Mensch/Natur) in Frage. Dabei bezieht sie relevante Überlegungen zu Gewalt und Macht einerseits, und zu Liebe und Regeneration anderseits, ein. Die künstlerische Position von Tejal Shah zeugt besonders vor dem Hintergrund ihres Heimatlandes Indien von Mut und ist von herausragender Qualität und Eigenständigkeit geprägt.

Im Kunsthaus Hamburg wird Shah ihre 5-Kanal-Videoinstallation Between the Waves raumgreifend präsentieren. In der Installation, die auf der dOCUMENTA (13) ihre Premiere hatte, entwickelte die Künstlerin ihre Vision von einer Welt, die mit den herkömmlichen Vorstellungen von Körperlichkeit und Bewusstsein bricht und in der sich die Grenzen zwischen Mensch, Natur, Kultur und anderen Spezies auflösen. Auf ihrer kompromisslosen Suche nach Nähe formieren sich die im Film dargestellten Mischwesen ganz unbefangen und intuitiv zu rituellen Begegnungen. Die Künstlerin präsentiert ihre radikale Vorstellungswelt als Utopie und Dystopie zugleich.  Neben der Videoinstallation zeigt das Kunsthaus Hamburg thematisch anknüpfende Collagen sowie eine Reihe neuer Zeichnungen, die sich mit dem Bodhisattva als wesentlicher Figur und Ideal des Mahayana Buddhismus befassen (original: the Mahayana Bbuddhist ideal of the figure of the Bodhisattva).

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg HFBK (Prof. Michaela Melián) wird Tejal Shah im Rahmen von zwei Filmscreenings den spezifischen kulturellen Kontext erläutern, in dem ihre Arbeiten entstehen. Als besonderen Gast hat sie dazu die indische Regisseurin und Sängerin Shabnam Virmani eingeladen, deren Filme sie ebenfalls präsentieren und in einem Künstlergespräch erläutern wird. In den Arbeiten der beiden Künstlerinnen lassen sich viele thematische und gedankliche Anknüpfungs-punkte finden. Gemeinsam werden sie einen eintägigen Workshop für die Studierenden der HFBK geben.

Einblick in ihre aktuelle Forschung wird Shah in Form einer Lecture-Performance am 25. Oktober an der HFBK geben. Seit über zwei Jahren beschäftigt sie sich intensiv mit den Grundlagen des tibetanischen Buddhismus und der Philosophie des „Mittleren Weges“, die auf die antike Nalanda-Universität zurückzuführen ist. Sie knüpft damit an eine heute noch lebendige spirituelle Tradition an, welche die Künstlerin als eine der nachhaltigsten und wissenschaftlich anknüpfungsfähigsten Perspektiven auf die Wirklichkeit und das Bewusstseins beschreibt. Das besondere Interesse Tejal Shahs gilt der praktischen Anwendung der Erkenntnisse aus diesem buddhistischen Wissenskomplex und seiner Relevanz für die Möglichkeit eines Lebens im Gleichklang. Von ihrer besonderen Form der künstlerischen „Forschung“ wird sie in Hamburg zum ersten Mal öffentlich berichten und ihr Werk ebenso wie Shabnam Virmani in einer Präsentation vorstellen. Als Ergänzung zur Ausstellung wird damit ein besonderer Einblick in die Arbeitsweise der beiden Künstlerinnen, die jeweils auf ihre Weise einen ebenso kritischen wie maßgeblichen Bezug zu den Kulturen Indiens haben, ermöglicht.

Tejal Shah (*1979, Bhilai, Indien) hat am Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Australien sowie am Art Institute of Chicago und am Bart College in New York, USA studiert. Sie hat an zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen teilgenommen und ihre Filme auf Festivals präsentiert; darunter das Museum of Modern Art, Oslo (2016/17), Whitechapel Gallery, London (2014), dOCUMENTA (13) (2012), Centre Pompidou (2011), Tate Modern (2006). Sie war beteiligt am Projekt „Indian Highway” (2009) an der Serpentine Gallery, London, Ullens Center for Contemporary Art, Beijing, MAXXI, Rom, Astrup Fearnley Museum of Modern Art, Oslo sowie am Musée d’Art Contemporain de Lyon.


Die Veranstaltungen in Kooperation mit der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg finden im Rahmen des Graduiertenkollegs „Ästhetiken des Virtuellen“ statt, gefördert durch die Landesforschungsförderung


Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:


Die Ausstellung findet im Rahmen der India Week statt.