Shirana Shahbazi

Shirana Shahbazi, "Raum-Grün-01", 2017, C-print on aluminium, Courtesy the artist and Galerie Peter Milchmann, Zurich

Shirana Shahbazi, Raum-Grün-01, 2017, C-print on aluminium, Courtesy the artist and Galerie Peter Milchmann, Zurich


Shirana Shahbazi

Shirana Shahbazi uses the entire range of the photographic medium’s technical means of reproduction. From C-print, lithography and photorealistic painting to hand-knotted adaptation of subjects – there is hardly any analogue method she has not applied. Conceptually, her colourful, partly large-format works are often closer to painting than to photography. Especially in those works which she arranges in her studio but also in her abstract photographies, the focus is not on the portrayed subject. By means of her photographic compositions, she enquires about the aspects which enable us to “read” and comprehend a picture.

With the construction of her impressive visual spaces, Shahbazi explores the capacity to perceive things with and through colours. Even though many of her works can be organized in classic categories such as still life, landscape, portrait, or abstraction, they are little concerned with the depiction of reality or with any iconographic narration. Rather, the artist creates images of structural longing and reminiscence, which present the act of perceiving as an experience. Her creation of pictures is always based on photographic representations; in the end, however, it is the individual choice of the medium and its technical reproduction which determine the reality of the displayed image considerably. Shahbazi liberates it from its dependence on the reality which precedes the photo.

The artist either encounters the subjects of her prints as snapshots on travels or creates them as precise compositions in her studio. Her imagery overdraws reality in its perfection and stylization as well as in its fleeting nature; nonetheless her pictures seem immensely familiar. In Shahbazi’s work, nature, both wild and tamed, is reflected as an experience which is always culturally and socially determined. It is the colour that gives the images their specific temporality; sometimes as patina, sometimes as a two-dimensional, abstract present.

Although Shahbazi works with analogue techniques, she presents her subjects exclusively in a non-hierarchical manner, similar to many digital platforms where boundaries between private, documentary, or commercial visuals blur into a continuous stream of images. The exhibition space is an important element of her artistic practice shaping the perception of her photos. Coloured walls build the ground for Shahbazi’s compositional installations and allow a sometimes linear, sometimes „all over“ reading of the diverse subjects. Through the varying constellation of those subjects and their changing arrangements, her exhibitions continually set new site-specific accentuations.

The Kunsthaus Hamburg is presenting an extensive solo-exhibition with the artist’s most recent works.

*1974, Teheran
Grew up in Germany
Studied in Dortmund and Zurich
Lives in Zurich


The exhibition is part of

Triennale der Photographie Hamburg 2018

Shirana Shahbazi

Shirana Shahbazi, "Raum-Grün-01", 2017, C-print on aluminium, Courtesy the artist and Galerie Peter Milchmann, Zurich

Shirana Shahbazi, Raum-Grün-01, 2017, C-print auf Aluminium, Courtesy die Künstlerin und Galerie Peter Milchmann, Zürich


Shirana Shahbazi


Shirana Shahbazi hat das fotografische Medium in seiner gesamten Bandbreite der technischen Reproduktionsmöglichkeiten erprobt. Vom C-Print, über die Lithographie bis zur fotorealistischen Malerei und handgeknüpften Motivadaptionen gibt es kaum ein analoges Verfahren, das bei ihr keine Anwendung findet. Dabei sind ihre farbintensiven, teils großformatigen Bilder konzeptionell häufig der Malerei näher, als der Fotografie. Vor allem bei ihren im Studio inszenierten, abstrakten Fotografien, aber auch bei ihren Stillleben und Reiseaufnahmen, steht das Dargestellte nicht im Vordergrund. Vielmehr fragt Sie mit ihren fotografischen Kompositionen nach dem, was uns befähigt ein Bild zu „lesen“ und zu verstehen.

Shahbazi erforscht bei der Konstruktion ihrer eindrücklichen Bildräume das Sehen mit und durch Farbe. Auch wenn sich viele ihrer Arbeiten in klassische Kategorien wie Stillleben, Landschaftsbild, Portrait oder Abstraktion einordnen lassen, geht es dabei weniger um Wirklichkeitswiedergabe oder die ikonografische Narration. Vielmehr kreiert sie strukturelle Sehnsuchts- und Erinnerungsbilder, die das Sehen als Raum und Erfahrung beschreiben. Immer geht ihrer Bilderzeugung ein fotografiertes Motiv voraus, letztendlich bestimmt aber die individuelle Wahl des Bildträgers und seiner technischen Reproduktion wesentlich die Wirklichkeit des ausgestellten Bildes. Shahbazi befreit es aus seiner Abhängigkeit von einer Realität, die der Fotografie vorausgeht.

Die Motive ihrer Prints findet die Künstlerin einerseits auf Reisen in Form von Momentaufnahmen und andererseits als präzise inszenierte Kompositionen im Studio. Ihre Bildwelten überzeichnen die Wirklichkeit sowohl in ihrer Perfektion und Stilisierung als auch in ihrer Flüchtigkeit und dennoch erscheinen sie unendlich vertraut. Sowohl die wilde, als auch die gezähmte Natur spiegeln sich bei Shahbazi als immer schon kulturell und sozial geprägte Erfahrungen wieder. Dabei ist es die Farbe, welche die Zeitlichkeit der Bilder hervorbringt, mal als Patina, mal als schattenlos-abstrakte Gegenwart.

Auch wenn es analoge Verfahren sind, mit denen Shahbazi arbeitet, so geht sie bei der Präsentation der Bildmotive ausnahmslos unhierarchisch vor, ähnlich vieler digitaler Plattformen, wo die Grenzen privater, dokumentarischer oder kommerzieller Bildwelten oft in einem kontinuierlichen Fluss verschwimmen. Der Raum spielt bei ihren Ausstellungen als Gestaltungs- und Wahrnehmungsebene immer eine wichtige Rolle. Farbige Wandflächen sind als Organisationsgrund Teil einer kompositorischen Hängung, die es den unterschiedlichsten Bildsujets erlaubt, mal linear, mal als „Allover“ gelesen zu werden. Durch die variierenden Konstellationen der Bildmotive und die wechselnden Arrangements finden ihre Ausstellungen immer wieder raumbezogen eine neu akzentuierte Formulierung.

Das Kunsthaus Hamburg zeigt eine umfangreiche Einzelausstellung mit den neuesten Arbeiten der Künstlerin.

1974 * Teheran
Aufgewachsen in Deutschland
Studium in Dortmund und Zürich
lebt in Zürich


Die Ausstellung findet im Rahmen der Triennale der Photographie Hamburg statt

Triennale der Photographie 2018 Hamburg