Invisible Heritage: Transfer 2017

Artist Talk with Monica Marin

Oceana James, For Gowie the Deceitful Fellow (Performance), 2016, photo: Sarene Brumant

Monday, 12 June 2017, 7 pm
Invisible Heritage
Artist Talk in English with Monica Marin, Johanna Bermúdez-Ruiz and Gerville R. Larsen

In dialog with participating artists Johanna Bermúdez-Ruiz and Gerville R. Larsen, curator Monica Marin will talk about her concept for the exhibition Invisible Heritage, presented this February in St. Croix, and now shown in Copenhagen. The exhibition addresses the ways in which the Caribbean vernacular culture reveals the marginalized narratives in the colonial history of the former Danish, today US Virgin Islands. The Danish perspective of the colonial narrative has been the primary focus, thereby creating blind spots that conceal the rich African Caribbean cultural contributions.

Virgin Islands Folk Arts, passed down from generations, have helped to tell a fuller story. The exhibition speaks to the resistance to colonialism, to the syncretism of European, African, and Caribbean creolized aesthetics. Cariso singers, Masqueraders, Bomboulah and Goombay dancers utilized their art forms to push back against systems of oppression. The project speaks to the creative power of making something out of nothing.

Using the the 2017  Centennial of the „Transfer Day“, the Invisible Heritage takes a critical look at the stories, events, and people that have been excluded. The project features contemporary artists from the region who have taken back the narrative. Through their “re-visions” the artists provoke questions: How can these new approaches be utilized to operate from the inside? How can Virgin Islanders  manifest their own destinies, reframe their past, and be in control of their future development? And, how can a critical perspective of Transfer used to Transform?

Monica Marin
a curator, artist, and educator from the US Virgin Islands. Studied Art History, Theory and Criticism and graduated from The School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Her work and research addresses the structural history of colonialism and the ways in which coloniality is manifested today through tourism, environmental racism, and the privatization of public land. Current projects examine the missing African-Caribbean art history in the archive, and vernacular cultural expressions as a space of resistance, including Invisible Heritage community arts project, and Take 5 and Migrating Histories Performance Festivals with Carla Acevedo-Yates. Marin works for the Virgin Islands Government on activating restoration projects through arts & culture, and as an independent curator helps to manage the Caribbean Museum Center for Arts artist in residency program and many of their exhibitions.

Johanna Bermúdez-Ruiz
an award winning filmmaker and a native of St. Croix/US Virgin Islands. She has a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Interdisciplinary Studies with a focus in filmmaking from Antioch College, Ohio/USA. Johanna has gained national and international acclaim and recognition for her distinguished films, documentaries, and music videos.
www.canebayfilms.com/projects
www.canebayfilms.com/portfolio_page/sugar-pathways

Gerville Rene Larsen
architect and artist, a multi-generational Crucian from the island of St. Croix, US Virgin Islands. He has received awards in both disciplines and promotes preservation/conservation of the rich cultural resources of the Virgin Islands. He is an abstract and figure painter with recent work that readdresses the narrative of who built and shaped our colonial past and the relevance between person and place. He has a B.Arch from Cornell University, Ithaca/USA.
www.tallerlarjas.co/gallery-art-collections.html

Further events on:
www.sankofa-altona-vi.de

Invisible Heritage: Transfer 2017

Künstlergespräch mit Monica Marin, Johanna Bermúdez-Ruiz und Gerville R. Larsen

Oceana James, For Gowie the Deceitful Fellow (Performance), 2016, Foto: Sarene Brumant

Montag, 12. Juni 2017, 19 Uhr
Invisible Heritage
Künstlergespräch in englischer Sprache mit Monica Marin, Johanna Bermúdez-Ruiz und Gerville R. Larsen
zu Gast im Foyer des Kunsthaus Hamburg

Das Künstlergespräch findet im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe SANKOFA – ALTONA IN DER KARIBIK statt. Das Projekt nimmt die 100-jährige Erinnerung an den Verkauf der dänischen Karibikinseln an die USA zum Anlass, den globalen Versklavungshandel zu debattieren. Dabei gilt das Augenmerk insbesondere den Erinnerungskulturen in den einstigen Kolonien, wozu ExpertInnen aus den US Virgin Islands, den USA, aus Dänemark, Trinidad, Ghana und Hamburg eingeladen sind.

Die Veranstaltungsreihe wird von Hannimari Jokinen kuratiert. Sie lebt und arbeitet als bildende Künstlerin in Hamburg und ist Mitglied im Arbeitskreis HAMBURG POSTKOLONIAL.

Im Dialog mit den teilnehmenden KünstlerInnen Johanna Bermúdez-Ruiz und Gerville R. Larsen wird Monica Marin über ihr Konzept für die Ausstellung Invisible Heritage sprechen, die im Februar in St. Croix und derzeit in Kopenhagen gezeigt wird. Die Ausstellung beschäftigt sich damit, wie die karibische Kultur marginalisierte Narrative in der Kolonialgeschichte der ehemals dänischen, jetzt amerikanischen, Jungferninseln zum Vorschein bringt. Zentral war stets die dänische Perspektive auf das koloniale Narrativ, wodurch blinde Flecken entstanden, die die wertvollen afrikanisch-karibischen Einflüsse überlagern. Die traditionelle Kunst von den Jungferninseln, weitergegeben von Generation zu Generation, liefert ein vollständigeres Bild.

Durch ihre Revisionen provozieren die Künstler Fragen: Wie können die neuen Herangehensweisen genützt werden, um von innen heraus zu handeln? Wie können die Einwohner der Jungferninseln ihr eigenes Schicksal manifestieren, ihre Vergangenheit neu formulieren und ihre zukünftige Entwicklung kontrollieren? Und wie kann eine kritische Perspektive auf Transfer für eine Transformation genutzt werden?

Monica Marin
Kuratorin, Künstlerin und Pädagogin aus St. Croix/ US Virgin Isalnds. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte, -theorie und -kritik und machte ihren Abschluss an der School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Den Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit und Forschung bildet die Strukturgeschichte des Kolonialismus sowie die Art und Weise, wie sich Kolonialismus und Rassismus heute in den Tourismus, die Umwelt und die Privatisierung von Grundbesitz einschreibt. In ihren aktuellen Projekten erforscht sie die afrokaribische Kunstgeschichte, die bisher kaum dokumentiert ist. Ihr Interesse gilt ebenso volkstümlichen Formen des kulturellen Ausdrucks als Möglichkeit des Widerstands. Zu ihren Projekten gehören die Community-Art-Projekte Invisible HeritageTake 5 und Migrating Histories, Performance Festivals mit Carla Acevedo-Yates. Im Auftrag der Regierung der US Virgin Islands initiiert Marin Kunst- und Kulturprojekte zur Restaurierung des Kulturerbes. Als unabhängige Kuratorin organisiert sie das Artists-in-ResidencyProgramm des Caribbean Museum Center for Arts und viele Ausstellungen an diesem Institut mit.

Johanna Bermúdez-Ruiz
geb. in St. Croix/US Virgin Islands, Studium an der Antioch College, Ohio/USA, Bachelor-Abschluss in Kunst und Interdisciplinary Studies mit dem Schwerpunkt Film. Bermúdez-Ruiz Dokumentarfilme und Musikvideos wurden mit zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet.
www.canebayfilms.com/projects
www.canebayfilms.com/portfolio_page/sugar-pathways

Gerville Rene Larsen
geb. auf der Insel St. Croix/US Virgin Islands, wo seine Familie seit mehreren Generationen lebt. Larsen, ein Künstler und Architekt mit verschiedenen Auszeichnungen, engagiert sich für die Bewahrung und Konservierung des reichen kulturellen Erbes der Virgin Islands. Seine aktuellen abstrakten und figürlichen Bilder erzählen von der kolonialen Vergangenheit, ihrer formgebenden Architektur und vom Wechselspiel zwischen Mensch und Raum.
www.tallerlarjas.co/gallery-art-collections.html

Weitere Veranstaltungen unter:
www.sankofa-altona-vi.de