Delimination and Control

Dialogue with Bani Abidi and Adnan Madani

Bani Abidi, The Distance From Here, 2010, Video Still

Sunday, 30 October 2016, 3 pm
Delimination and Control – Artist Talk with Bani Abidi and Adnan Madani
The talk will be in English language.

Under the title ’Delimination and Control’ the talk will revolve around a multiple-perspective description of cultural and social space. How can we trace cultural identity today, without following predominant narratives? The event aims to discuss mechanisms of control and power from a cultural and artistic perspective. The artist Bani Abidi will talk on her work currently on display at Kunsthaus Hamburg, in which she addresses specific issues of social background/locality and at the same time confronts us with the global context of identity-related demarcation.

With a background in cultural studies, Adnan Madani amongst others examines in his recently concluded PhD the various formations and demarcations of religion and secularism that mark the global cultural space. Besides his academic research he is also involved in artistic practice, currently collaborating with the artist David Alesworth on a research and art initiative called ‘Invasive Species’ that explores biological, historical and mythological traces of non-native presences in Britain.

Bani Abidi (*1971, Pakistan) studied visual art at the National College of Arts in Lahore and at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. In 2011, she received a DAAD grant, and since then has been residing in Berlin. The Kunsthaus Hamburg is presenting the first extensive overview of Bani Abidi’s works in Germany. Abidi’s works have been shown in numerous international group and solo exhibitions, including presentations at the Galerie Experimenter in Kolkata (2016, solo), at the Dallas Contemporary Museum, Dallas, Texas (2015, solo), at the Berlin Biennale (2014), at the Kunstverein Arnsberg (2014, solo), Documenta 13, Kassel (2012), the Baltic Center for Contemporary Art, Newcastle (2011, solo), Green Cardamom Gallery, London (2010, solo), V. M. Art Gallery, Karachi (2010, solo), the Biennale de Lyon (2009), the Gwangju Biennale (2008), the Fukuoka Triennale (2005), and at Project 88, Mumbai (2010, solo).

Adnan Madani is an artist, academic and curator. He graduated as a visual artist from the Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture in Karachi in 2001, and did an MA in Contemporary Art Theory at Goldsmiths where he focused on theories of performativity and cultural difference. He recently concluded PhD at Goldsmiths and teaches an undergraduate course there. Madanis present projects include a book on Jean-Luc Nancy and World-making, as well as research on ideas of space and pilgrimage in Islamic thought. In October 2016 Madani curated the exhibition ‘Art Sabka? Pakistani Cinema Reflected’, at FOMMA, Karachi that is exploring the use of cinematic imagery and the history of indigenous cinema in the visual art of Pakistan.

Entgrenzung und Kontrolle

Künstlergespräch mit Bani Abidi und Adnan Madani

2h_the-distance-from-here_2010_video-still
Bani Abidi, The Distance From Here, 2010, Video Still

Sonntag, 30. Oktober 2016, 15 Uhr
Entgrenzung und Kontrolle – Künstlergespräch mit Bani Abidi und Adnan Madani
Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Unter dem Titel ‚Entgrenzung und Kontrolle’ beschäftigt sich die Veranstaltung mit dem multiperspektivischen Blick auf kulturelle und soziale Räume. Wie lassen sich heute kulturelle Identitäten nachzeichnen, ohne dabei hegemoniale Perspektiven einzunehmen? Dabei soll über Mechanismen der Kontrolle und Macht aus künstlerisch-kultureller Perspektive gesprochen werden. Die bildende Künstlerin Bani Abidi wird dabei ausgehend von ihren Arbeiten argumentieren, die aktuell im Kunsthaus Hamburg gezeigt werden. Hierin beschäftigt sie sich mit spezifischen Fragen der gesellschaftlichen Verortung und thematisiert gleichzeitig den globalen Kontext von identitärer Grenzziehung.

Adnan Madani untersucht als Kulturwissenschaftler u. a. in seiner kürzlich abgeschlossenen Dissertation die unterschiedlichen Entstehungs- und Abgrenzungsmechanismen von Religion und Säkularismus, die den globalen kulturellen Raum bestimmen. Neben seiner akademisch-wissenschaftlichen Arbeit ist er ebenfalls künstlerisch tätig und arbeitet derzeit gemeinsam mit dem Künstler David Alesworth an einem Kunst- und Rechercheprojekt unter dem Titel ‚Invasive Species’. Darin beschäftigen sie sich mit den biologischen, historischen und mythologischen Spuren nicht-einheimischer ‚Erscheinungen’ in England.

Bani Abidi (*1971, Pakistan) studierte Kunst am National College of Arts in Lahore und an der School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Seit ihrem DAAD Stipendium 2011 lebt sie in Berlin. Im Kunsthaus Hamburg wird das Werk Bani Abidis zum ersten Mal in Deutschland umfangreich präsentiert. International waren ihre Arbeiten in zahlreichen Ausstellungen zu sehen, u. a. in der Galerie Experimenter in Kolkata (2016, solo), am Dallas Contemporary Museum, Dallas Texas (2015, solo)  auf der Berlin Biennale (2014), im Kunstverein Arnsberg (2014, solo), der Documenta 13, Kassel (2012), dem Baltic Center for Contmporary Art, Newcastle (2011, solo), der Galerie Green Cardamom, London (2010, solo), V. M. Art Gallery, Karachi (2010, solo), der Biennale de Lyon (2009), der Gwangju Biennale (2008), der Fukuoka Triennale (2005), bei Project 88, Mumbai (2010, solo).

Adnan Madani ist Künstler, Wissenschaftler und Kurator. 2002 machte er seinen Abschluss in Bildende Kunst an der ‚Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture’ in Karachi und schloss den Master in zeitgenössischer Kunsttheorie an der Goldsmith Universität an, wobei er sich vertieft mit Theorien der Performanz und kultureller Differenz beschäftigte. Kürzlich promovierte er am Goldsmith und unterrichtet dort einen Bachelor Kurs. Madanis aktuelle Projekte umfassen u. a. ein Buch über Jean-Luc Nancy und der Erschaffung der Welt sowie die Forschung über islamische Vorstellungen von Raum und Flucht. Im Oktober 2016 kuratierte er die Ausstellung ‘Art Sabka? Pakistani Cinema Reflected’, am FOMMA in Karachi, die sich mit dem Gebrauch cineastischer Vorstellungen und der Geschichte des indigenen Kinos in der visuellen Kunst in Pakistan beschäftigt.